What is Ultralight Backpacking?

On a recent hike with my wife we discussed what 3 words might describe who we are as individuals. I believe I came up with minimalist, realist, and analytical. Without trying to explain that in detail (or even get into it at all really) I feel like those ‘values’ are ones that drew me to the idea of hiking and in so much doing so into the world of ultralight hiking.

The thrill of being surrounded by the simplicity, beauty, and grandeur of nature is something that is only awoken by experiencing it. The concept of a self sufficient existence is indescribably empowering. Carrying all one needs to survive on your back for miles and miles gives a sense of invincibility.

All of the above can be achieved through any type of hiking and is in no way specific to ultralight hiking. That said for me this is something I wanted to do with my wife and friends and children and something I wanted to enjoy rather then endure. I frankly have no interest in putting 60 pounds on my back and going any distance up and down hills and mountains, through water crossings, and over all types of terrain. On top of that IF I was duped into such a trip I can’t imagine getting very far and certainly not doing it very quickly. I value efficiency. I value speed and agility. I value a minimal approach for maximum results. Ultralight backpacking is precisely that!

To define ultralight backpacking you might find yourself in a debate (even amongst purists). I will stick to very generic language and definitions and let you determine what is right for you. When hiking everything with you breaks down into 3 categories: items carried and worn, consumables, and base items. I don’t believe items carried and worn needs much explanation but that is obviously your clothes you are wearing, trekking poles, footwear, and items in your pockets, on your wrist, around your neck, etc. Consumables is anything consumed on the trip. Food, water, and fuel being the main 3 but also items like sun screen and bug spray could apply (the containers these items are packed in however are not consumables). This leaves base weight items. This is pretty much everything else. This is your pack, your shelter, your packed clothing, your sleeping gear, etc. In later posts we will go into much greater detail on this I am certain.

The definition I have heard and subscribe to for ultralight backpacking is a BPW (base pack weight) under 10 pounds. As a side note there is also a definition for a BPW under 5 pounds of SUL (super ultralight). Keep in mind this is everything with you that is not worn, carried on your person, or consumed. Theoretically you could stroll out into the woods with an pocket knife and book and have a great time and do just fine but the two greatest things to take into consideration when seeing how light you can push your BPW are comfort and safety. Safety should go with out saying but items like first aid, proper shelter, sleeping gear, clothing, and rain gear should not be left out simply to save weight. Comfort is a factor that varies from person to person and things like rain gear can blur the line between comfort and safety. If you like walking in a thunderstorm with no protection that is completely fine but if you are doing that on a 35 degree day your health and safety are most certainly going to be compromised. As an example some people feel like they cannot achieve a good nights sleep with out a pillow and this of course is strictly a comfort item.

There are 3 ‘weights’ to be considered in all of this. The first is the Base Pack Weight (which was discussed above), the second is the Total Pack Weight which is the BPW plus all consumables. The third is the Skin Out Weight which is exactly what it sounds like…everything minus you in your birthday suit. You might ask ‘who cares?’ The answer is of course NO ONE except maybe your back and legs and feet and well anyone who cares to experience more in their hike.

For me I want to see more and do more and go places, not just in hiking but in life. This is how I try to live every day and this approach to hiking is just a natural extension of that. At the end of the day I desire the simplicity of walking in the woods and enjoying the natural beauty that the Lord has provided and I desire to do so in comfort and safety but for me I also desire to do this as efficiently and skillfully as possible.

Joe M.

Leave a comment